Congress 3rd List For Karnataka Polls Out, Big Decision On Siddaramaiah



Congress 3rd List For Karnataka Polls Out, Big Decision On Siddaramaiah

Congress has so far fielded candidates in 209 seats (File)

New Delhi:

The Congress on Saturday released its third list of 43 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections, fielding ex-BJP leader and former deputy chief minister Laxman Savadi from Athani assembly seat. The Congress did not field former chief minister Siddaramaiah from Kolar assembly constituency and instead fielded Kothur G Manjunath from the seat, according to the list.

Siddaramaiah was seeking to contest from the Kolar assembly seat as the second constituency. The party has already fielded him from Varuna constituency, earlier represented by his son.

The party also fielded former Governor Margaret Alva’s son Nivedit Alva from the Kumta assembly seat.

The party has so far fielded candidates in 209 seats, including 124 seats in the first list and another 42 seats in the second list, and is yet to announce the seats of 15 more candidates.

Mr Savadi, who announced his decision to resign from the primary membership of the BJP after being denied a ticket to contest in the May 10 Assembly elections, had joined the Congress on Friday.

Mr Savadi, a Lingayat leader in Belagavi district, on Friday resigned from the Legislative Council and the BJP before heading to the office of the Congress.

“From today onwards, I have no connection with the BJP. I will be a devoted and loyal worker of the Congress, just as I was in the BJP for 20 to 25 years,” he had said. 

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Read More | Source: NDTV News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *